Congratulations to Matthew Tointon

07 Mar 2022, by ablahatherell in News

Congratulations to Matthew Tointon, lecturer in Mathematics, University of Bristol, who was awarded the gold medal at STEM for Britain Awards, an annual poster competition, open to early career researchers in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. The overall aim of the competition is to encourage, support and promote Britain’s early career researchers. This annual competition is an important date in the parliamentary calendar because it gives MPs an opportunity to see the work of a wide range of the country’s best young researchers

Matthew’s poster explained his research on ‘Probability on finite transitive graphs’. [View Poster]. Below are links to the work Matthew was describing:

R. Tessera & M. Tointon, ‘A finitary structure theorem for vertex-transitive graphs of polynomial growth

R. Tessera & M. Tointon, ‘Sharp relations between volume growth, isoperimetry and resistance in vertex-transitive graphs

T. Hutchcroft & M. Tointon, ‘Non-triviality of the phase transition for percolation on finite transitive graphs

Matthew’s research is in the field of Group Theory. He is interested in problems and results concerning the combinatorial, geometric and probabilistic properties of groups. Much of his work lies at the interface between additive combinatorics and geometric group theory.

We also congratulate the silver and bronze winners in Mathematical Sciences , Desislava Ivanova (Oxford) for her research on ‘Automated adaptive design in real time‘, and Teresa Bautista (KCL) for her research on ‘Mathematical microscopy into our expanding universe‘. The overall Westminster Wharton medal was awarded to Adele Parry, School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Leeds, for her research on ‘A better lateral flow test? The design of novel liquid crystal droplet biosensors‘.

The Parliamentary and Scientific Committee runs the event in collaboration with the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Institute of Physics, the Royal Society of Biology, The Physiological Society and the Council for the Mathematical Sciences (of which INI is a part), with financial support from Dyson, Clay Mathematics Institute, United Kingdom Research and Innovation, Society of Chemical Industry, the Nutrition Society, Institute of Biomedical Science, the Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research, the Biochemical Society and IEEE UK & Ireland Section.