About the Institute

The Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research (HIMR) is a national centre supporting research across a range of areas of mathematics in the UK.

Our Vision: 

Building UK mathematical capacity and helping keep the country safe.

Our Mission: 

Through strategic partnerships we foster a diverse, collaborative and supportive environment to nurture the UK maths ecosystem and deliver high quality, impactful mathematical research that makes a difference to national security.

Our Values:

We support equality, diversity and inclusion: to ensure we are accessing the talents of all and are getting input from different perspectives.

We act with integrity:  so that those who work for us have confidence in the organisation and our sponsors, and we have the trust of the wider academic community.

We foster collaborative working:  we can achieve more together than as individuals.